Turning Over a New Leaf

Leaf

 

I was going through my closet looking for a headband in my old kaboodle -don’t judge me. Yes, I just might be a pack rat…so I’ve been told. Anyways, I found this gold-plated pendant of a leaf that I’ve had since I was a child! I’d forgotten all about it, until now. It’s funny how this turned up right as I am making some major changes in my life. Out with the old and in with the new. I think that finding this pendant represents “turning over a new leaf” in my life. I think it’s gorgeous and I may start wearing it again too!

Roughly, every four years, life has always introduced a new challenge for me to tackle. Sometimes it’s a new school, a job, or different people to adjust to. But this time is especially different, because life has brought me to a fork in the road. In other words, I have to make a vital decision. A decision to go left or right. I already know what direction I will go. Yes, it is outside of my comfort zone. Oh yes, absolutely, out of my comfort zone! But I know everything will work out. There will be times I’ll make mistakes, good and bad times, but that’s what life is all about. In order to grow, one must be stretched and faith has to be tested. All things work together for good to those who love him.

As I become reacquainted with my pendant, it feels so smooth on one side, but yet a little textured on the other. I always used to look at it and play with it in school. I’d bite it and tuck it in and out of my shirt. It never broke either! It pleases me to have found my pendant again. Gold was my first love when it came to jewelry and now as my cherished pendant makes its return into my life, I’m excited about turning over this new leaf!

Have you found something from your past that inspires your future?

Millia C

 

Leave a Reply

